Make your own free website on

Swar-Representations as used in this Site

The 7 notes have been represented as S R G m P D N

Swaras are Normal or Shuddha, Komal or flat and Teevra or Sharp. The combinations of all these makes 12 swaras in an octave. The Komal or flat Swaras are denoted here as r g d n for komal Rishabh, Gandhar, Dhaivat & Nishad respectively where as Normal or Shuddha Swaras are R G D N for Shuddha Rishabh, Gandhar, Dhaivat & Nishad respectively.   The notes S & P however remains as constant or unique.

The notations used here to denote 12 swaras are as below;

S  r  R g G m M P d D n N

Upper Octet notes or Tar-Saptak Swaras  will be denoted as the note with a single quote like S' for Tar Shadaj or Sa.
Lower octet notes or Mandra-Saptak Swaras  will be denoted as the note with a comma like ,N for Mandra-Saptak Nishad or Ni.Where as s will be used to denote a prolonged note or Avagraha while rendering viz; S s G s s M R S
In an octet i.e. from S to S' there could be 6 Normal Notes or Shuddha Swaras viz - R G m P D N and four Komal or flat Swaras viz - r g  d n. The lower oblique cleft stands for Komal or Flat nature (which are situated below their corresponding Shuddha Swaras). Only one note i.e. M or Madhyam Teevra, in which the oblique cleft is in opposite direction to that in komal swaras. The Teevra Madhyam M is above Shuddha madhyam or m.
If more than one note is taken in a beat will be written as continuous notes like PMGM  - PM where in PMGM, 4 notes have been rendered in a single beat where as in PM only 2 notes have been rendered in a single beat. The pause will be represented as - between two combinations of notes or swaras.